MacAulay International Gathering Postponed to 2022 in Stornoway!

After much deliberation it was decided unanimously by your Clan MacAulay Executive Committee that the MacAulay International Gathering will be postponed to August 2022. It will be held in Stornoway on the Isle of Lewis. The MacAulays have a large presence in the Western Isles and the Caladh Inn in Stornoway will be the MacAulays home base for three days as we gather our people together and explore historical points of interest on Lewis. We look forward to seeing everyone there. Watch this video to experience the beauty of Lewis and Harris.

Robbie Burns Night

Known in medieval Celtic culture as a story teller, verse maker and composer, the word ‘Bard’ has become synonymous with the world’s greatest poets. However, few are as celebrated as Scotland’s own ‘National Bard’, Robert Burns, who we pay tribute to on 25 January each year.

Join your fellow MacAulay clansmen and clanswomen in celebrating virtually Saturday January 23.  All clan members are invited to join in the festivities.  (If you aren’t yet a member of the clan, read about membership and apply to join on our site HERE.)  Time for the event is 12 pm PST, 1 pm MST, 2 pm CST, 3 pm EST, 4 pm AST, 8 pm UK, 9 pm EU, 9 am+1 day NZ, and Australia (+1 day) 4 am Perth, 6:30 am Adelaide, 7 am Canberra.  Registration is required to attend.  Check the Chief’s Corner email dated January 17 for the link to register OR contact us via the Contact Form HERE.

A sample menu for the event is below.  (You may want to modify it for your time zone or just skip it altogether — except for the whiskey of course!)

Starter – Traditional cock-a-leekie soup
Main course – Haggis, neeps & tatties (Haggis wi’ bashit neeps an’ champit tatties)
Sweet – Clootie Dumpling (a pudding prepared in a linen cloth or cloot) or Typsy Laird (a Scottish sherry trifle)
Cheeseboard with bannocks (oatcakes) and tea/coffee

To give you a peek at what’s planned, check out the agenda:

      • Welcome
      • Piping in of the Guests
      • Selkirk Grace
      • Entrance of the Haggis
      • Toast to the Piper
      • Address to the Haggis
      • Toast to the Haggis
      • Recital of a Burns Poem
      • The Immortal Memory
      • Singing of a Burns Song
      • Toast to the Lassies
      • Reply to the Laddies
      • Auld Lang Syne

Don’t miss the chance to join with MacAulays across the globe for this traditional event!

Happy Hogmanay, Hogmanay Sona from Clan MacAulay

Hogmanay traditions will be significantly different this year for those celebrating in Scotland and around the world But as we celebrate separately, but together in spirit, it gives us the opportunity to reflect on the year that was and the year that will be. To everyone around the world, from Clan MacAulay, we wish you all the best for 2021. Happy Hogmanay! Hogmanay Sona!

Thanks, as always, to John MacAulay Court, for sharing the link to the beautiful and creative use of drones in Scotland to entertain, and give some peace! Note that if you let it run after Part One, Part 2 will play as well. Part 3 will be available tonight. Click here to view!

And if you aren’t familiar with Hogmanay, visit Historic Scotland to learn more

Clan MacAulay Members: Historical Coordinator Announced

Colin McCawley is an absolute treasure when it comes to history and archival recommendations. So it is only fitting that Colin is now our Historical Coordinator. If you have books and other historical items, please let Colin know (you can email him HERE) so we have a coordinated effort in understanding who holds what documents or items of historical significance that may assist our members as they research their MacAulay roots.

Clan MacAulay History is a benefit of clan membership. If you aren’t yet a member, read all about membership and join here.

Clan MacAulay Members: Genealogy Coordinator Announced

Do you have genealogy charts but don’t know how you connect with other Clan MacAulay members? We’re pleased to announce that Kathy McCauley (who can be emailed HERE), with her extensive genealogy experience, has taken on the role of Genealogy Coordinator in a larger effort to bring our people together. Thank you Kathy for taking on this exciting and important task!

Clan MacAulay Genealogy is a benefit of clan membership. If you aren’t yet a member, read all about membership and join here.