Robbie Burns Night

Known in medieval Celtic culture as a story teller, verse maker and composer, the word ‘Bard’ has become synonymous with the world’s greatest poets. However, few are as celebrated as Scotland’s own ‘National Bard’, Robert Burns, who we pay tribute to on 25 January each year.

Join your fellow MacAulay clansmen and clanswomen in celebrating virtually Saturday January 23.  All clan members are invited to join in the festivities.  (If you aren’t yet a member of the clan, read about membership and apply to join on our site HERE.)  Time for the event is 12 pm PST, 1 pm MST, 2 pm CST, 3 pm EST, 4 pm AST, 8 pm UK, 9 pm EU, 9 am+1 day NZ, and Australia (+1 day) 4 am Perth, 6:30 am Adelaide, 7 am Canberra.  Registration is required to attend.  Check the Chief’s Corner email dated January 17 for the link to register OR contact us via the Contact Form HERE.

A sample menu for the event is below.  (You may want to modify it for your time zone or just skip it altogether — except for the whiskey of course!)

Starter – Traditional cock-a-leekie soup
Main course – Haggis, neeps & tatties (Haggis wi’ bashit neeps an’ champit tatties)
Sweet – Clootie Dumpling (a pudding prepared in a linen cloth or cloot) or Typsy Laird (a Scottish sherry trifle)
Cheeseboard with bannocks (oatcakes) and tea/coffee

To give you a peek at what’s planned, check out the agenda:

      • Welcome
      • Piping in of the Guests
      • Selkirk Grace
      • Entrance of the Haggis
      • Toast to the Piper
      • Address to the Haggis
      • Toast to the Haggis
      • Recital of a Burns Poem
      • The Immortal Memory
      • Singing of a Burns Song
      • Toast to the Lassies
      • Reply to the Laddies
      • Auld Lang Syne

Don’t miss the chance to join with MacAulays across the globe for this traditional event!

Comments are closed.